21st Summer: Making My Bed & (not) Lying In It

Beds are ugly when they are not made. Sure, they look like the perfect Tumblr picture but they are also a lot like a snake – waiting in the grass to trap you into climbing into bed, watching Netflix all day, and never doing anything productive again in your entire life.

dosfamily-unmadebed01Like a puppy and an unmade bed?! Stop. Let me in.

And therein lies my problem. I have both a puppy and a bed. Granted, my puppy isn’t really allowed on my bed (black fur that sheds + outside + white sheets = no) but when my bed isn’t made, all I want to do is crawl into it and lay there forever. I will not do my homework. I will not study. I will not even go out.

I will lay in my bed for hours before getting up to eat just because I’d rather be comfortable and lazy than use my legs.

NO MORE.

167fe57dd19f559b133ef47e7e36191c

Do you know what makes you look like you have your life together? A made bed.

Do you know what I’ve convinced myself will make me productive? A made bed.

Do you know what my first summer goal is? That’s right – to make my bed every morning.

Now – and this is true, so try and hold your surprise – I am taking an 8 a.m. this summer 2 session. I know, I know, I’m insane, blah blah blah. I’m starting to maybe agree with this because I can’t even wake up at 8 a.m. for work so I’m not sure why I think waking up that early for a math class will work, but I’m going to try. I’m honestly convinced that I will somehow have my whole life together if I manage to make my bed every morning. Will it sometimes have to wait until after I get home from school? Yes, of course. Who can make a bed at 8 a.m., before coffee? Definitely not me. If you can, I’m really happy for you and not at all jealous.

So, to review, I, Katy, will be making my bed every morning for the rest of this summer, in the hopes that it will turn into a lifelong habit that will impact my academics and anything after positively by making me look like I have my life together and, therefore, tricking my mind into thinking that I could possibly have all the answers to life and a 100% successfully potty trained puppy.

 

2 thoughts on “21st Summer: Making My Bed & (not) Lying In It

  1. A really good start for a blog! Very interesting. I love your observations and humor. Keep on writing. Love you, Memaw

Leave a Reply

