My 8 Best Grammys 2015 Looks

I loooove awards shows and I especially love the Grammys. I sat through the entire E! News pre-show & then almost the entire awards show on Sunday because I absolutely adore the Grammys. I love music, it’s my favorite area of Hollywood, so I love the performances and I love seeing who wins what, even though usually it’s about the same two people (just like this year, where Sam Smith and Beck swept the show). What I love the most about the Grammys is the fashion – while it’s classy and fancy and all that, everyone there usually wears some sort of mix of both stylish and elegant, while also with a little edge. I rounded up my eight favorite looks – originally it was seven, but the more I looked at Taylor Swift, the more I loved it – and put them together here:

8. Jhene Aiko

image via glamour.com
image via glamour.com

My personal opinion is that this Alberta Ferretti Spring 2015 dress is not getting enough attention. The R&B singer looked absolutely flawless in this nude to blush-pink, ruffled number and I love the way the bodice cinches just at the waist, making the skirt look as if it flows naturally and the color against her skin looks incredible. Not to mention, I think it makes her tattoo look very elegant because there aren’t any sleeves covering it and thus messing up the lines of any shoulder lace or something or peeking through a neckline. But then again, I love tattoos. I wish Jhene had done a little bit of a bolder lip and a subtler eye, but overall, this look really hit it out of the park.

7. Miley Cyrus

image via buzzfeed
image via buzzfeed

Mileybird’s Alexandre Vauthier Spring/Summer 2015 cutout gown got a lot of hate, but I was personally digging it. Considering she’s 22 and can really only wear stuff like this for a limited period of time before it gets tacky/her body won’t look good in it, why the f%$* not? This is also one of the more subdued Miley looks and it was definitely not too revealing or inappropriate. In fact, I’d argue it was just appropriate enough for the event and her age. I think the cutouts were very tactfully placed and definitely very flattering as the dress fit her well, but wasn’t too tight. I’m DYING for Miley to grow out her bob again because she looked phenomenal and she’s like the only person on the planet that can pull it off. Her make-up was a little…barely there, or at least in the red carpet pictures, and again, would’ve loved to see a bolder lip and probably even a darker eye from Miley too. I know she’s into the hippie thing but with some fun and dark make-up this dress could’ve been so va-va-voom but she still 100% pulled it off like I never could.

6. Nicki Minaj

image via glamour.com
image via glamour.com

I am without a doubt beyond glad that Nicki Minaj has moved past her crazy (or crazier) antics and has gotten into this femme fatale sort of look because she is actually so beautiful and has killer curves. This sleek Tom Ford Spring/Summer 2015 was definitely one of my favorites from the pre-show and I could not take my eyes off of Nicki when she was talking to Ryan Seacrest. She looked AMAZING. Literally perfect. I love the beading; I loved the sheerness past the thigh and how the gown looked like it was dripping and sexy; and I definitely loved how the top was low-cut but understated so it didn’t bring too much attention to the cleavage with beading. This dress looked like it was made for her. I also really love the belting at the natural waist, it’s hard to tell without a close-up picture, but where the beading began and the deep V ended, there’s a small “belt” of fabric that made the dress look like it had clean lines. This was my first dress that I loved on the red carpet and I’m happy that everyone else was all about it too,

5. Rihanna

image via glamour.com
image via glamour.com

If you watched the E! pre-show with Ryan Seacrest then you know Rihanna was the last one to arrive on the red carpet (classic) and when Ryan asked her about this Giambattista Valli Couture dress, her reply was the she “saw this dress on the Internet and [she] just fell in love with it.” This quote somehow makes me love this dress even more, although it was definitely not something I would expect from Rihanna or to be worn at the Grammys. It was definitely very different than what everyone else – who was mostly in black – was wearing but it’s such a thing that only Rihanna could pull off. Much like with Jhene Aiko’s dress, the color was beautiful against her skin and even though the dress took up two seats and she seemed to struggle with it a little, I think it’s like Miley’s dress – something you can get away with wearing while you’re young and cool and taking chances. I also really loved that her hair was in the cute ballerina bun and her make-up was very simplistic. This dress would have made her look like a clown had she had a ton of make-up on and she’s so beautiful that she could show up at the red carpet with zero make-up on and still be the prettiest person there. So overall, although this dress was very made fun of, I thought it was beautiful and I thought the way she understated her hair and make-up really made it one of the best.

4. Miranda Lambert

image via glamour.com
image via glamour.com

Ever since Miranda Lambert, like, married Blake Shelton and lost weight, girl’s been killing the game on every red carpet and working those country girl curves. She’s definitely one of, if not THE, most stylish country singers and really holding it up for the women in country music and helping prove that it’s not all about sequins, boots, and turquoise down South. Anyway, I was obsessed with the pink neckline and streamlined silhouette on her Gabriela Cadena column gown and I especially loved the Kotur clutch she used to accessorize. This was one of her best looks and I loved how the cutouts helped enhance her figure, because sometimes they have the opposite effect. Her lipstick being a more subdued shade of the neon pink on her gown and big lashes popped the dress and the colors in it as well and it was just a good mix of pink and black, because that can get real tacky, real fast. ALSO, sidenote, I feel like a lot of people would try and mix this up with an extra neon color and props to Miranda for not doing that because that would have ruined the entire look.

3. Beyoncé

image via glamour.com
image via glamour.com

Even though it’s my #3, I have mixed feelings about this little Proenza Schouler number. On the one hand, the sheer, snow white Michael Costello gown she wore last year was incredible and there is really no topping that ever by anyone in the entire world and this was kind of a let-down after that. On the other hand, sheer, lace, embroidered gowns are kind of owned and glorified by Beyoncé so this is a classic for her. What I do love about it was a) her hair (omg) and b) I loved how it didn’t look like a bodysuit with a lace robe thrown over it, because I think this dress could have had that effect, and I loved the sleeves and train which made it more demure. I also really dig the way it seemed to have a dewy effect in the lights. The threadwork of the silk and beading is incredible and there’s no doubt that this dress was made perfectly. Only Bey could make that deep V look classic as well, as, again, this dress (to me) could also run the high risk of looking tacky if on the wrong person or on someone who doesn’t know how to make a dress enhance their curves. She, of course, made it even more beautiful than it already was but I do wish the Lorraine Schwartz emerald chandelier earrings had been more visible because they were stunning and added a good pop to this lace ditty.

2. Anna Kendrick

image via refinery29.com
image via refinery29.com

SO ANNA KENDRICK LOOKED FLAWLESS. LITERALLY ***FLAWLESS. I didn’t get to see her on the red carpet, but when she presented I thought I was going to pass out from how gorgeous she looked. Jumpsuits and deep V plunges were all over the red carpet this year but Anna Kendrick’s was my absolute #1 main homie favorite. (This is actually not a jumpsuit, but a very well-tailored Band of Outsiders suit made to look like a jumpsuit, fyi.) It was so minimalistic, with the black stilettos and plain clutch, and her smoky make-up and the way she swept her hair to the side…amazing. I can’t get over it Plus I’m obsessed with her in general, which probably clouds my judgement, but she really looked phenomenal. I’m a huge fan of black clothing and clean lines and things being fitted so Anna Kendrick bringing all of these together on her perfect self really hits me right in the heart.

aaaaaaaand finally…………………………*drumroll*

1. Taylor Swift

image via glamour.com
image via glamour.com

I’m not a huge Taylor Swift fan at all and I actually hated this Ellie Saab ombre dress when I first saw it but the more I saw it in pictures, the more I loved it. She’s always the best dressed and I wish I had loved Anna Kendrick’s just a little tiny bit more than T Swizzle’s but the truth is, this really was the best dress on the carpet. Also partly because it wasn’t black – I love and live for black clothing, but it almost looked like the funeral of the Grammys more than the actual awards show since the “color” is so in right now. Anyway. This is such a Taylor Swift look and the heels were a risk because they could’ve been a horrible clash, but instead they actually made this look that much more exciting. I loved the youth brought out from the short skirt under the ball gown skirt – especially because Swiz has killer gazelle legs – and the shoulder cutouts helped accent her equally gazelle arms. Thank God she passed on the red lip here, opting for a nude gloss and demure make-up, because this dress and shoes definitely speak for themselves. I’m also really thankful she didn’t do that weird crinkled swoop thing she does with her bangs at the part of her hair sometimes because I hate that and instead opted for the soft swoop that’s very Old Hollywood glam. I did say and I’m holding to it that I think this dress would have looked better with one less fold in the ball gown skirt, or maybe one less on either side, because I think it was a little stiff and could have been a little less big. But overall, for sure the best dress on the entire carpet and the best accessorized.

I’d loooove to hear what everyone’s favorite Grammys red carpet dress was – whether you agree or disagree with me!

xox Katy

Leave a Reply

